The Best Of Roxy Music

12 May

Roxy Music

I don’t think I’ve ever really been a fan of Roxy Music. I never thought of seeing them when they were active and have never thought of  attending a Bryan Ferry concert since.

The reason I bought this collection (secondhand,  in Cornwall last year some two decades after they stopped being a working band) is because Roxy really were part of the soundtrack of  my teenage years! You don’t have to like the people to like the music sometimes! Early Roxy were stylish, confident and distinctive. I can remember the first time I heard their debut single ‘Virginia Plain’ in 1972! It was over someone’s portable transistor radio at a tennis club in Chesham Bois, Buckinghamshire and it was different and fun. I particularly liked Andy Mackay’s sax playing.  And then of course there was the distinctive cover artwork on their LPs (in those days on Island records, now on Virgin) – they were  very much out of the art school end of rock!

Although there are 18 tracks on this compilation I probably listen only to the hits – especially ‘More Than This’, ‘Dance Away’ and ‘Love Is The Drug’ which remind me of the clubs and discos of my youth – in fact, you could say they are very much of their time.  I certainly try to avoid the cover version of John Lennon’s ‘Jealous Guy’!

Leave a Reply

