4621

11 May

4621

A slice of Scottish/Nordic roots-rock from 1996 on the the Forth Recording Company label (FORCD). Rock Salt and Nails are a Shetland based five-piece band  who mix traditional music with self-written material from band leader Paul Johnston.  I can’t recall where or when I bought this – but a handwritten sticker suggests that it was secondhand (possibly from Pied Piper Records in Northampton) and that it cost me £4! Quality control on the inlay wasn’t that hot since half of the white lettering on a black background is illegible but hey, what did I expect?

I think the reason I took a chance on this was because it also includes a cover of the Beatles number ‘I’m Looking Through You’ which works rather well.  I also like the traditional instrumentals. It’s fun, exuberent – and I think the only authentic Shetland material I have in my collection.

And no, I don’t know why it’s called ‘4621’ .

 

Leave a Reply

