Fables of the Reconstruction/ Reconstruction of the Fables

5 May

Fables

My first REM album and probably still my favourite. Issued on I.R.S. records  in 1985 and bought on vinyl from a bargain bin in an obscure supermarket during the year I lived in Bishops’ Stortford, Hertfordshire  – which puts it between August/September 1985 and  1986.

It was REM’s third studio album and their reputation was rising.  What tempted me (despite the price of course) is that it was recorded in the UK and  produced by Joe Boyd (producer of Fairport Convention, Nick Drake,  the Incredible String Band,  Pink Floyd, Billy Bragg. Kate & Anna McGarrigle  etc).

Writing this blog post reminds me of how I’ve stopped listening to this album since I retired my turntable and how much I miss it! ‘Driver 8’ is the standout track for me, along with ‘Kohoutek’/

Leave a Reply

